RSS Feed

Reading and Knitting

Posted on

Some time ago I swapped half a skein of Wollmeise in Mitternacht for a skein of lovely Three Irish Girls Westerly Sea Sock in Kathrine Hepburn.

As soon as I had that lovely merino and sea silk yarn in my hand I just wanted to pet it it’s so soft.
So I really needed a special project for it and one were I could still pet it 🙂
Further to knitting one of my passions is reading. I usually have two or more books I read (atm “See Delphi and Die” by Lindsay Davis and an 8th Doctor novel).

So I though about combining my love for knitting (and that special yarn) and my love for books in a pair mitten.

They are perfect for keeping your hands warm but you can still easily hold a book and turn pages.

The book my friend Nina holds in the picture is a 1877 edition of the Ilias or to give it its full german title: “Die schönsten Sagen des klassischen Altertums, zweiter Teil, mit 40 Holzschnitten”. The first book of that series is in a good condition too, but the third (Odyssey) one is sadly missing it’s spine.

I made the books with duplicate stitching and used less then 1m or 1 yard per book so I used up some of my scrap yarn collection that would usually go to my blanket.
But the pattern give the option to knit the books using stranded knitting. Look at Mimi91 version on Ravelry here

With the code “Books” you get 10% of the whole price for the first week 🙂

About Atalante

Knitter, sewer, spinner. Way to many comic books, yarn and Doctor Who DVDs at home to call it healthy but I love it.

Leave a Reply

