RSS Feed

Swatching

Posted on

I love to swatch. Not so much the classic 10x10cm squares (or 4″x4″ if you’re not using ISO), but different pattern stitches.

Sometimes you find a really great one on the internet, or in a stichonary and just have to knit it.
One of those is this really great looking pattern:

Swatching

I really like the look, the texture and the proportions. But hell, I don’t want to work a whole piece with it. You see the lovely twisted stitches that build up the cluster in the middle of the flowers? That is a work 7(!) stitchs together through back loop and make 7 new ones from that.
Not something I want to work on a larger scale.

But as I love the look, I’ll probably play around with it to get a more managable stitch instead of the 7-into-7.

About Atalante

Knitter, sewer, spinner. Way to many comic books, yarn and Doctor Who DVDs at home to call it healthy but I love it.

2 responses »

  1. Agreed! Whenever I get the urge to cast on something new, I just play around with a few swatches! Sometimes you just want yarn in your hands for fun đŸ™‚

    Reply
    • In this case I couldn’t decide on a stitch pattern for a new shawl. So not only fun to see a stitch pattern develop really fast on the needles, but to get a feel how they knit up (and that I don’t want to knit a 7-into-7 for a long time!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

